The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington, DC, has announced its recipients of the Kennedy Center Honors this year. Actor George Clooney, rock band U2, singers Amy Grant and Gladys Knight, and composer Tania Leon will all be recognized for their lifetime contributions to the arts. 
The annual event, which will be held on December 4, recognizes actors, comics, dancers, musicians, and poets from across the world and raises funds to ensure that the living memorial to President John F. Kennedy remains open and accessible. 
In the last four decades, the center has honored some of the world's most famous names. Previous honorees included Motown founder Berry Gordy, Meryl Streep, Oprah Winfrey, Billy Joel, Robert DeNiro, David Letterman, Sting, Cicely Tyson, The Eagles, and LL Cool J among others
The star-studded ceremony has become a popular broadcast each year, featuring performances by other stars as odes to the recipients. Take a look at some of the iconic tributes:

John Legend Honors Earth, Wind & Fire

Juanes, Tom Morello, Fher Olvera Honor Carlos Santa

Foo Fighters, Lenny Kravitz, Kid Rock Honor Led Zeppelin

Jimmy Fallon Honors Lorne Michaels

Ballerina Tiler Peck Honors Patricia McBride 

Kelly Clarkson, James Taylor, Jimmie Allen and Gladys Knight Honor Garth Brooks