Every year since its inception in 1954, Sports Illustrated has annually presented its Sportsperson of the Year award to the recipient or recipients whose, quote, 'performance that year most embodies the spirit of sportsmanship and achievement.' This year, the iconic sports publication named five winners: LeBron James, Naomi Osaka, Patrick Mahomes, Breanna Stewart and Laurent Duvernay-Tardif. Steve Cannella, Sports Illustrated's Editor in Chief, explains why SI chose to award multiple athletes this year and what factors were weighed most heavily. Cannella also discusses the overlaps of sports and politics in today's evolving culture.